2012 Oscars

The 84th Academy Awards will be presented today in Los Angeles and the most coveted award is the Best Picture.  This year the Academy has nominated 9 pictures in this category and some were actually adapted from novels.  We are pleased to say that we have 4 of these books in the library and anyone is welcome to borrow them!

The Descendants by Kaui Hart Hemmings

The Help by Kathryn Stockett

The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick

War Horse by Michael Morpurgo

 

New books in the library

Here is a small selection of new titles that the Library has bought in the past month.  Remember to always check our New Books Display near the Circulation Desk!

Beautiful Days by Anna Godbersen

In this must-have sequel to Bright Young Things, Cordelia and Letty are small-town girls no longer. Letty is ready at last to chase her Broadway dreams. Cordelia thought she lost her true love, but a chance meeting will change her fortune—and her future. The unflappable flapper Astrid Donal has promised herself to Charlie Grey, Cordelia’s half-brother, but isn’t sure their love is true enough to survive. And a bitter rivalry will ensnare them all in a dangerous feud played out in the speakeasies of Manhattan and on the great lawns of Long Island. As these bright young things live out their beautiful days in the summer of 1929, they find romance and heartbreak, adventure and intrigue, new friends and unexpected rivals.

Fans of The Luxe series, A Great and Terrible Beauty, Martin Scorsese’s hit HBO series Boardwalk Empire, and, of course, The Great Gatsby, will delight in the Jazz Age setting, a time when girls were enjoying newfound freedom and excitement could be found behind any door in Manhattan

Readings

 

H.I.V.E. Part 7 : Aftershock

Scheming, extorting, menacing and general evilness are nothing new in the world of villainy – indeed it’s expected. But there are codes of conduct. Until now. In an attempt to purge the Global League of Villainous Enterprises of its more destructive elements, Dr Nero has underestimated the cunning and resources of those who oppose him. Meanwhile, Otto and the rest of the Alpha stream have been sent to begin their most feared exercise: The Hunt, in the icy wastes of Siberia. But there is a traitor in their midst. The first strike against Nero will be a strike against the Alpha stream. Villain-kind is on the brink of CIVIL WAR.

 

Amazon

 

 

 

 The Cartographer by Peter Twohig

Set in Melbourne in the 1950s, a 11-year-old boy witnesses a murder when he is spying through a window of a strange house.

In the following weeks he comes to map out all the significant adventures he has in the labyrinthine city, trying to make sure he doesn′t cross the path of the murderer, who he believes wishes to silence and dispose of him. Comics and superheroes inform his strategies for avoiding the bogeyman, as does the memory of his twin brother, Tom, who recently died in a tragic accident.

 

 

Readings

 

 

The History Keepers : The Storm Begins by Damian Dibben

 

Dystopian stories. The next craze?

With The Hunger Games movie set to be released in the US early this year, the level of interest in “dystopian” type stories has increased in the past year.  We have a great selection of books in this genre and borrowings have been on high rotation for quite some time.  Other popular titles are the Gone series by Michael Grant, I Am Number Four by Pittacus Lore and Divergent by Veronica Roth.  The Penguin teen readers blog has a great description of this genre, as follows :

                            ” Dystopia can be post-apocalyptic, alternate universe, science fiction or a prediction of what’s to come. Dystopic society is characterized by human misery and oppression – stories are often set in rural cities, where humans have little contact with nature and are suffocated by their modernized surroundings. Politics in such novels are often brutal and dictatorial, exemplifying the belief that ‘power corrupts”.

We love to see kids read and if this is what’s flying off the shelves right now, then we are all for it!

For more information on dystopian YA fiction, check out these sites –
http://penguinbtl.blogspot.com.au/2011/08/dystopia-barren-bleak-and-disturbing.html

http://www.amazon.com/gp/richpub/syltguides/fullview/R3ERR05F6HGPDE

http://teens.librarypoint.org/taxonomy/term/2072