The Wishing Spell – by Chris Colfer

Alex and Conner Bailey’s world is about to change. When the twins’ grandmother gives them a treasured fairy-tale book, they have no idea they’re about to enter a land beyond all imagining: the Land of Stories, where fairy tales are real. But as Alex and Conner soon discover, the stories they know so well haven’t ended in this magical land – Goldilocks is now a wanted fugitive, Red Riding Hood has her own kingdom, and Queen Cinderella is about to become a mother! The twins know they must get back home somehow. But with the legendary Evil Queen hot on their trail, will they ever find the way? The Land of Stories: The Wishing Spell brings readers on a thrilling quest filled with magic spells, laugh-out-loud humour and page-turning adventure.


Boy Nobody – by Allen Zadoff

The explosive new thriller for fans of Jason Bourne, Robert Muchamore and Michael Grant. Boy Nobody is the perennial new kid in school, the one few notice and nobody thinks much about. He shows up in a new high school, in a new town, under a new name, makes few friends and doesn’t stay long. Just long enough for someone in his new friend’s family to die — of  natural causes.  Mission accomplished, Boy Nobody disappears, and moves on to the next target. When Boy Nobody was just eleven, he discovered his own parents had died of not-so-natural causes. He soon found himself under the control of The Program, a shadowy government organization that uses brainwashed kids as counter-espionage operatives.  But somewhere, deep inside Boy Nobody, is somebody: the boy he once was, the boy who wants normal things (like a real home, his parents back), a boy who wants out. And he just might want those things badly enough to sabotage The Program’s next mission.


Dead Jealous – by Sharon Jones

People think of Mother Nature as a gentle lady. They forget that she’s also Death. Sixteen-year-old Poppy Sinclair believes in quantum particles, not tarot cards, in Dawkins, not druids. Last summer, in a boating accident in the Lake District, Poppy had a brush with death. But the girl she finds face down in Scariswater hasn’t been so lucky. As she fights to discover the truth behind what she believes is murder, Poppy is forced to concede that people and things are not always what they seem and, slipping ever deeper into a web of lies, jealousy and heart-stopping danger, she comes to realise – too late – that the one thing that can save her has been right there, all the time.


Mila 2.0 – by Debra Driza

No one suspects what she’s made of…After the sudden death of her father, Mila’s at a new school, trying to fit in and falling for mysterious sexy Hunter. But her world slams upside down in a heartbeat when a car accident reveals a secret she never knew; a secret about herself. Mila is devastated to learn that her memories are just chimeras, her dreams untrue. She can’t even rely on her emotions to tell her who she is. So how can she grieve for her father or feel the way she does about Hunter? And why is her mom running scared? Worse still, who are the creepy stalkers so desperate to get their hands on her…?


By Any Other Name – Laura Jarratt

I picked up the book and thumbed through the pages. Names in alphabetical order, names with meanings, names I knew, names I’d never heard of. How to pick? Nothing that would stand out, nothing that would link me to the past – those were the instructions. The past. As if everything that had gone before this moment was buried already.  Holly is fifteen years old, but she’s only been ‘Holly’ for a matter of months. Because of what happened, she and her family have entered witness protection and assumed new identities. But Holly can’t shake the urge to reconnect with her old life – even when she becomes friends with Joe, the mysterious boy who lives up the road. Will one moment of weakness put Holly and her family’s lives in danger?

Keep Holding On – Susane Colasanti

Throughout her time at school Noelle has been the victim of bullying. Her classmates make every day a living hell. However it is all done so secretly that even her best friend has never known quite how bad the bullying is. Noelle’s home life is no better, her mother hardly seems to notice whether Noelle is there or not. Noelle has kept so much of her life secret that when her lifelong crush Julian starts paying attention to her, she is terrified. Surely it is safer to stay hidden in the shadows rather than risk the pain of a broken heart? Or can she find the strength to stand up?


Pureheart – Cassandra Golds

Cassandra Golds, the award-winning author of The Three Loves of Persimmon, has written a literary, supernatural thriller for young adults, retelling, in part, the romantic legend of Sir Galahad.
Deirdre is alone in a crumbling block of flats after her grandmother dies. While looking out the window one day, she sees a boy who is familiar. She hasn’t seen him in years but Deirdre and Gal share a secret.
Together, he and Deirdre must discover the secret of the old building, before it collapses and the secret is lost forever.

The Screaming Staircase – Jonathan Stroud

When the dead come back to haunt the living, Lockwood & Co. step in…For more than fifty years, the country has been affected by a horrifying epidemic of ghosts. A number of Psychic Investigations Agencies have sprung up to destroy the dangerous apparitions. Lucy Carlyle, a talented young agent, arrives in London hoping for a notable career. Instead she finds herself joining the smallest most ramshackle agency in the city, run by the charismatic Anthony Lockwood. When one of their cases goes horribly wrong, Lockwood & Co. have one last chance of redemption. Unfortunately this involves spending the night in one of the most haunted houses in England, and trying to escape alive. Set in a city stalked by spectres, The Screaming Staircase is the first in a chilling new series full of suspense, humour and truly terrifying ghosts. Your nights will never be the same again…