Mucked Up – Danny Katz

There are three reasons why Tom Zurbo-Goldblatt is creeping into school like a scaredy little weed this morning: 1. Today is Muck Up day and the Year 12s are planning to take down the school in the biggest Quad Raid ever. 2. He is on Yard Duty. So not only will he have to clean up all the Muck-Up day mess, he’s also wearing a girly T-shirt with the word ‘boy’ on it. 3. Bushing. Which is a combination of pushing and bushes, and the reason why Tom wants to avoid the rose garden. Also, the Students Combined Underground Movement is falling apart – Jarrell and Jack S have fallen in love and are being all lovey-dovey vommy, Brisley has decided to join a much cooler gang, Ravo is just miserable, and Tom’s only friend is a pig in a nappy. On top of all this, the schoolyard is a warzone of silly string, toilet paper and supa-soakers filled with Vietnamese fish sauce. Tom’s determined to survive, but can he choose between his own safety and the future of SCUM? It’s going to be a long and crazy day.

All Our Yesterdays – Cristin Terrill

A brilliantly brain-warping thriller and a love story that leaps back and forth in time – All Our Yesterdays is an amazing first novel, perfect for fans of The Hunger Games. Em is locked in a bare, cold cell with no comforts. Finn is in the cell next door. The Doctor is keeping them there until they tell him what he wants to know. Trouble is, what he wants to know hasn’t happened yet. Em and Finn have a shared past, but no future unless they can find a way out. The present is torture – being kept apart, overhearing each other’s anguish as the Doctor relentlessly seeks answers. There’s no way back from here, to what they used to be, the world they used to know. Then Em finds a note in her cell which changes everything. It’s from her future self and contains some simple but very clear instructions. Em must travel back in time to avert a tragedy that’s about to unfold. Worse, she has to pursue and kill the boy she loves to change the future …


And Then He Kissed Me : Stories of Love, Heartbreak and other Unnatural Disasters – Kate Dale

Toe-curlingly good (and bad!) kisses, boys next door, spots on date night, first love, unlove, passion, heartbreak…and other unnatural disasters. This is a collection of romantic short stories from some of today’s bestselling women’s and teen fiction writers. Ever fallen in love? Ever fallen out of love? Ever fallen in love with someone you shouldn’t have…? Nine authors write about first kisses, love, heartbreak and everything in between in this short story anthology. It is a unique collection combining the work of bestselling women’s fiction writers and children’s authors. Authors include: women’s writers Cathy Kelly, Monica McInerney, Adele Parks and Sinead Moriarty; and teen authors Katie Dale, Abby McDonald, Joanna Nadin, Dyan Sheldon and Sarah Webb.



Hello Darkness – Anthony McGowan

Stealthy, furtive, unhurried yet urgent – In a few seconds of efficient butchery, the chickens are dead and dismembered.  Someone is on a killing spree  –  slaughtering the school pets with a cold-blooded savagery. The number-one suspect: Johnny Middleton. Johnny’s had problems in the past, but they’re behind him now. So what if he still sees the world a little differently? He’s not crazy and he’s not a killer. And he’s going to prove it.


Inside Out & Back Again – Thanhha Lai

Moving to America turns Ha’s life inside out. For all the ten years of her life, Ha has only known Saigon: the thrills of its markets, the joy of its traditions, the warmth of her friends close by…and the beauty of her very own papaya tree. But now the Vietnam War has reached her home. Ha and her family are forced to flee as Saigon falls, and they board a ship headed toward hope. In America, Ha discovers the foreign world of Alabama: the coldness of its strangers, the dullness of its food, the strange shape of its landscape…and the strength of her very own family. This is the moving story of one girl’s year of change, dreams, grief, and healing as she journeys from one country to another, one life to the next.