Legend (Legend #1) – Marie Lu

legendLos Angeles, California Republic of America He is Day. The boy who walks in the light. She is June. The girl who seeks her brother’s killer. On the run and undercover, they meet by chance. Irresistably drawn together, neither knows the other’s past. But Day murdered June’s brother. And she has sworn to avenge his death. Dystopian fiction at its very best in this thrilling instalment in the Legend trilogy.

Readings

All Our Yesterdays – Cristin Terrill

A brilliantly brain-warping thriller and a love story that leaps back and forth in time – All Our Yesterdays is an amazing first novel, perfect for fans of The Hunger Games. Em is locked in a bare, cold cell with no comforts. Finn is in the cell next door. The Doctor is keeping them there until they tell him what he wants to know. Trouble is, what he wants to know hasn’t happened yet. Em and Finn have a shared past, but no future unless they can find a way out. The present is torture – being kept apart, overhearing each other’s anguish as the Doctor relentlessly seeks answers. There’s no way back from here, to what they used to be, the world they used to know. Then Em finds a note in her cell which changes everything. It’s from her future self and contains some simple but very clear instructions. Em must travel back in time to avert a tragedy that’s about to unfold. Worse, she has to pursue and kill the boy she loves to change the future …

Readings

Hello Darkness – Anthony McGowan

Stealthy, furtive, unhurried yet urgent – In a few seconds of efficient butchery, the chickens are dead and dismembered.  Someone is on a killing spree  –  slaughtering the school pets with a cold-blooded savagery. The number-one suspect: Johnny Middleton. Johnny’s had problems in the past, but they’re behind him now. So what if he still sees the world a little differently? He’s not crazy and he’s not a killer. And he’s going to prove it.

Readings

Boy Nobody – by Allen Zadoff

The explosive new thriller for fans of Jason Bourne, Robert Muchamore and Michael Grant. Boy Nobody is the perennial new kid in school, the one few notice and nobody thinks much about. He shows up in a new high school, in a new town, under a new name, makes few friends and doesn’t stay long. Just long enough for someone in his new friend’s family to die — of  natural causes.  Mission accomplished, Boy Nobody disappears, and moves on to the next target. When Boy Nobody was just eleven, he discovered his own parents had died of not-so-natural causes. He soon found himself under the control of The Program, a shadowy government organization that uses brainwashed kids as counter-espionage operatives.  But somewhere, deep inside Boy Nobody, is somebody: the boy he once was, the boy who wants normal things (like a real home, his parents back), a boy who wants out. And he just might want those things badly enough to sabotage The Program’s next mission.

Readings

Dead Jealous – by Sharon Jones

People think of Mother Nature as a gentle lady. They forget that she’s also Death. Sixteen-year-old Poppy Sinclair believes in quantum particles, not tarot cards, in Dawkins, not druids. Last summer, in a boating accident in the Lake District, Poppy had a brush with death. But the girl she finds face down in Scariswater hasn’t been so lucky. As she fights to discover the truth behind what she believes is murder, Poppy is forced to concede that people and things are not always what they seem and, slipping ever deeper into a web of lies, jealousy and heart-stopping danger, she comes to realise – too late – that the one thing that can save her has been right there, all the time.

Readings

By Any Other Name – Laura Jarratt

I picked up the book and thumbed through the pages. Names in alphabetical order, names with meanings, names I knew, names I’d never heard of. How to pick? Nothing that would stand out, nothing that would link me to the past – those were the instructions. The past. As if everything that had gone before this moment was buried already.  Holly is fifteen years old, but she’s only been ‘Holly’ for a matter of months. Because of what happened, she and her family have entered witness protection and assumed new identities. But Holly can’t shake the urge to reconnect with her old life – even when she becomes friends with Joe, the mysterious boy who lives up the road. Will one moment of weakness put Holly and her family’s lives in danger?
Readings

Venom – Fiona Paul

Beauty, romance, murder… A novel as stunning and seductive as Renaissance Venice itself.

Cassandra Caravello is part of Venice′s wealthy elite. Her world is one of fabulous gowns, society parties and privilege, yet she longs for something more. While her fiancé is away studying in Paris, she has a chance meeting with an artist called Falco. He is attractive, audacious…and highly unsuitable.

When Cass stumbles upon the body of a murdered woman – with a bloody X carved across her heart – she′s drawn into a dangerous world of secret societies, courtesans and killers. Falco is quick to offer his assistance, but then another body is found and Cass starts receiving death threats… Is Falco more involved than she imagined? And will she be able to stay true to her fiancé, or succumb to her uncontrollable feelings for someone she′s not even sure she can trust?

Readings

The Edge of Nowhere – Elizabeth George

The first novel in Elizabeth George’s Young Adult series. This genre-bending work combines Elizabeth’s flair for mystery and suspense with the paranormal.

Becca King and her mother are on the run from her stepfather who has used Becca’s talent for hearing ‘whispers’ to make a large and illegal sum of money. Now their options for safety are running out. In the town of Langley on Whidbey Island, Becca finds refuge in the home of her mother’s childhood friend while her mother continues on to Canada in search of safety.

But on her first day in town Becca meets sixteen years old Derric Nyombe Matheson a Ugandan orphan who was adopted as a ten-year-old by the town’s Deputy Sheriff. Derric has a secret that no one on Whidbey Island knows. Derric and Becca form an un-severable bond. Becca is convinced that she’s the only person who can truly help him, and just maybe Derric can convince Becca that life is too short to live on the run.

 

Readings

Killing Rachel – Anne Cassidy

Rose’s mother and Joshua’s father have disappeared. Police inquiries have gone nowhere and the case, it seems, is closed: Rose and Joshua have been told that the police believe their parents are dead. But Rose and Joshua still hold out hope that they are alive. Joshua is determined to follow up his own inquiries, which includes working out the meaning of the cryptic notebooks – the murder notebooks – they have discovered. Then Rose is distracted by odd, desperate messages she receives from Rachel, a former best friend from her school, followed by the terrible news that Rachel is dead. But perhaps Rachel’s death will provide one more piece of the puzzle about what has happened to Rose and Joshua’s parents . . .A taut and pacy thriller in The Murder Notebooks series, from an acclaimed writer for teens.

Readings